Sumter Votes To Consolidate Four Schools

Sumter, SC (WLTX)The Sumter school board has voted to consolidate four of its schools into two.

By a vote of 5-3, members voted to consolidate Mayewood Middle and R.E. Davis Elementary school to form a K-8 College Preparatory Academy on the campus of R.E. Davis Elementary.

The board also voted to consolidate F.J. DeLaine Elementary school and Cherryvale Elementary school to form a STEAM school on the campus of Cherryvale Elementary.

The motion included an amendment for this to be the first phase of implementation and studies of the district’s schools and the feasibility for consolidations for the future.

Source Article